A Night at the Operette

 

Olivia at the Staatsoperette for Hänsel and Gretel

Olivia at the Staatsoperette for Hänsel and Gretel

I know, I know…I’ve got lots of blogging to do.  But like they say when you’re behind in scrapbooking: start with the most current first and then work your way back if you have time.  

 

Well, Olivia was introduced to the Staatsoperette here in Dresden, where they perform various musicals and operas and such, when our upstairs neighbor invited her to go and see the opera Hänsel and Gretel last December.  She enjoyed it and lo and behold, this year in October she asked me if we could go and see it together.  I was surprised since she was only five last year when she saw it.  I’m not surprised that she remembered it, just that she wanted to see it again.  But I was also enthusiastic, I mean I did study vocal music, so come on…seriously!  I didn’t have to think twice.  I don’t have pictures of the set, though it was VERY cool and the witch was over the top, but Olivia wasn’t scared.  There were a bunch of little kids at the matinee and I was surprised that only a few were crying.  It’s a good two hour show and an opera at that.  Olivia thought the only drawback was that they were singing the whole time🙂  She asked me twice:

“But why do they have to sing the whole time, Mommy?”  

I was taken aback.  

I said, “you saw this last year. Did they sing then?”  

Olivia took this picture of me in my seat.

Olivia took this picture of me in my seat.

 

“Yeah, but I thought maybe they wouldn’t sing the whole time, this time.”

“Well,” I said, “why don’t you want them to sing?”  

“Because I want them to talk.”  Ah ha.  I was catching on.  

“You can’t understand them, can you?”

“Nope. I can’t understand them when they’re singing.”

I thought this was a good point.  Even when you know the language (Olivia’s got perfect German), you have a hard time understanding an opera libretto no matter what.🙂  I whispered the plot to her throughout the rest of the show.😉

Afterwards we had a nice dinner in a restaurant and I asked her if she enjoyed it. “Yeah!  And I wasn’t scared of the witch this time!”  Well, that’s good to know…  “Can we see a different show next year?” she asked.  I thought a second.  “What do you think about The Nutcracker Suite?”  That was our topic of discussion for the rest of dinner.  So we’ve got a date in less than 12 months to see some “dancing.”🙂

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “A Night at the Operette”

  1. amy nickerson says :

    That is so cute! She’s growing up so fast! I can’t believe it. Hope you guys had a good Christmas! Miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

