Pancho

So we were outside enjoying the Springtime! while riding our bikes out behind the house our apartment is in. The kids were naming their bikes. This originated with Chris, I’m sure, since he has to put a name to everything–there must be order!  His bike was “Optimus Prime,” I think, and he helped Alex to name his “Lightening McQueen.” Olivia at first told me her predictable name, which was “Pink Princess” and I smiled and said, “that’s pretty.”

As we rode around the corner of the house, she said, “no, I think I’m going to name it “Pancho.” I stopped, did a double-take and said, “what?”
“Pancho. I’m going to name it Pancho.”
I couldn’t help myself. A giggle escaped (didn’t you just giggle right now?)
I said, “Pancho? Where did you find that name?”
She blushed and said, “nevermind, I want to call it ‘Princess.’ ”
Of course, I backpedaled (figuratively) and told her she should name it whatever she wants–I was literally frightened that I might be someone to make her self-conscious.  I don’t want to be someone who hinders my child’s very creative and thoughtful mind!

My gmail address is ‘herotothree,’ not because I’ve got a huge ego but because it keeps me in check every time I see it.  Parents are heroes to their kids (at least, in the beginning) and role models, as well.  A large responsibility–part of which is showing my kids that their original thoughts are wonderful and should be subject only to the Father.  We had a nice chat about it, though.  That’s one thing I love about Olivia:  she enjoys talking with me–I don’t know how long that will last, but I’m taking advantage of it while I can.

Anyway, then today I saw a link on Courtney’s blog and it fit in smoothly with my thoughts today somehow…here it is…bittersweet and true.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Pancho”

  1. Court says :

    Definitely bittersweet and true–and so is what you’ve written, Bri.

    Did you ever find out where she came up with Pancho? And yes, I did giggle–because she’s adorable. :o)

  2. 5carrolls says :

    No, I didn’t. She said she just “heard” it.🙂

  3. Pam Davis says :

    Yes, I was wondering also if you ever found out where Pancho came from.

Leave a Reply

