Alex!

This blog post is dedicated to my youngest, who recently turned three years old.  You can see the party in all it’s gory glory here at our Flickr site. ;-)  Alex is our third and last child (unless the Lord springs one on me), which means Randy and I have to resist letting him get babied too much.  We really have to moderate each other when we find one of us has been letting him “slide” on account of he’s so stinkin’ cute and cuddly :D  Alexander gets his name from the Greek “Alexandros” (latinized) which means “protector/defender of men.”  Protector seems to imply someone who’s strong and that, Alex certainly is.  Even in the womb he nearly cracked my ribs.  We even thought about naming him Samson!

We held a Bob the Builder party for him and since his birthday is April 30th, the weather was warm enough to grill and have the party outside.  Randy was pretty excited about the weekend of grilling (Olivia’s party was the next day).  What made it extremely easy was that someone let us borrow their …. “jumpy castle thing?” or “Hupfburg” in German, which I think is much more concise and accurate.  So we hardly had to do anything except make sure no fights broke out over the new presents and that everyone got fed.  My kind of party!

Alex also recently started at the German Kindergarten where Chris has been going for over two years now.  There was an introductory period where I stayed in the room with him for three mornings one week and then moved to the hall….then out the door…and voila!  He was attending Kindergarten.  This is a new policy for the Kindergarten.  When we left Olivia and then Chris it was pretty much…bye! And then they cried for about ten minutes.  This happened about a week and then things went better.  Well, I was skeptical of the “introductory period” at first–I mean, come on!  My kids are tough!–, but I have to say, I felt different about leaving Alex than I did the other two.  I don’t know why exactly…maybe just because he’s the baby?  Because he’s not talking that well yet? All I know is it worked really well and the only crying that happened was when he started staying for naptime.  They brought in what they thought was the solution…big brother Chris. And for a few minutes it did seem as if he was the solution.  He settled Alex down and laid down with him.  But then after a few minutes the whispering and giggles started.  I could have told the teacher that THAT would happen…that’s our bedtime every night🙂

Well, on to the stats…this post is about Alex after all.

The Stats:

Alexander Davis Carroll

Alexander Davis Carroll

Alex was born April 30, 2006 and after this third natural birth I decided I just might call it quits.  After analysing that rash decision years later while in a rational frame of mind…yes, as far as we’re concerned, Alex will remain the “baby of the family.”  I remember very clearly saying “thank you God” over and over right after Alex was born.  It was a great feeling to have him finally there.

He was named Alexander Davis (my maiden name) to follow the tradition that our kids would have a first name to themselves and a middle name that they inherit.  Alex also resembles the Davis side of the family quite strongly, so I guess we got that one right. He goes by “Alex” most of the time, “Alexander” when he’s in trouble and “Allie Al” when he looks especially cute–don’t ask me why.  He does NOT go by just “Al.”

He decided to walk a little later than the other two (which I was thankful for!) and started at 12 months instead of 9 months.  He’s on the shorter, stalkier side, though I may just be saying “stalky” because Chris is like a scarecrow and my judgement is impaired.🙂

His crown is right in the middle of his forehead.  Not just a cowlick…it’s an actual circle/swirl that makes for what we jokingly call “Harry Potter Hair.”

He’s been a climber since he could walk.  I’ve found him on the piano (on top of the piano), standing on the bathroom sink and various other places.  Even when he was 18 months and we took off the bottom rungs of the kids’ bunk bed ladders, he still found a way to climb up.  No falls so far, though, so thank you, Angels!

But who is he really?

Alex has a very expressive face.  He’s got that “look” that he can put on in a second to make you want to alternately cry and give him anything he wants.  Few are immune, but fortunately, I am not one of the few :-)  He could probably be an actor someday or at least a convincing speaker since he’s got the know-how behind the face.  He knows exactly how to play the part!

He started out pretty sweet and innocent but in the last year and really thrown himself into the “pesky little brother” role and occasionally exasperates his sister (who cries for help when he’s in her room) and his older brother (who uses his fist or diplomacy, depending on if he’s had a nap that day).  In general, though he idolizes his older siblings and wants to be WHEREVER they are, which complicates things when he’s still too little for stuff (this is usually the time when he puts on the the “face”).  He especially loves to do whatever Chris is doing.  It was difficult to tell people what he liked (for birthday presents) because he basically just wants to play whatever Chris is playing-and we already have enough transformers/hot wheels/dinosaurs…  He DOES love trains, which the other two never really got into all that much.

Right now his language is hard to understand.  He doesn’t speak his own language, as Olivia did, and he doesn’t follow Chris’ pattern of speaking cleary at an early age.  Right now he fits the pattern (at least that the schools gave us) of a child growing up hearing two languages.  He started speaking a little later than normal and now a lot of his words are not enunciated very well, but I’ve noticed in the last couple of months that his language is starting to take leaps and bounds.  He says whole sentences that we can almost understand🙂 but when we can’t, we just ask Chris.  Chris understands Alex nearly every time after only hearing him once.  I find myself saying frequently to Randy “I can’t understand what he’s asking for, can you?”  “No.” “Chris!  Can you come and tell us what Alex wants?”  But we’re not worried.  Apparently, it’s “normal.”  :-)  He understands a lot of what the teachers at kindergarten say, though he volunteers few German words himself–yet.  I can see it coming…🙂

Pretty much from 3 months on, we’ve known his primary love language is touch.  He used to have this annoying habit of crawling into bed with us and just running his hands up and down our arms or our backs.  If you tried to tuck the sheet tight around you (in a sleepy attempt at fending him off) he would find a way to worm his little hands under there to your skin and continue stroking you….while he was ASLEEP.  He loves to sit and cuddle with you.  In the morning he’s got to have his “sitting in the lap” time and when he was around a year old, if you sat on the floor for any reason, he was in your lap in two seconds.  We’re already on alert for when he’s of dating age…there’s going to be a big talk about the “touchy-feely” stuff!

Well, I could go on and on, of course–I’m a mom!  But I’ll let you rest your eyes, faithful reader🙂

Happy birthday my baby boy…may you grow up into a strong Christian man.🙂

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Alex!”

  1. Court says :

    This is so sweet, Bri. You even made me cry a little. ;o) It’s neat to read about Alex, since I don’t know him as well as I know the older two. *sigh* I miss you and Randy, sure, but right now I’m really missing your kids. ;o)

    Love you guys!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Olivia! « Journey of Five - May 30, 2009

Leave a Reply

