A day with a Superhero

Chris downtown Dresden, originally uploaded by carrollers.

What does a superhero do when he goes out on a date with his mom? He goes shopping apparently🙂
Well, what can I say? I’m practical. I used our day out together to get him a pair of much-needed shoes. And since I know Chris is picky, I decided to let him in on the deal.🙂 In all fairness, I DID ask if he wanted to go to a number of different places, but for Chris, he doesn’t care WHERE he goes — most of the time — he just wants you to be there WITH him. He wants some one-on-one time.

Chris was a little under the weather today so I kept him home simply to keep him from going to swimming lessons. As I contemplated the day of doing laundry and cleaning with Chris underfoot, I realized an opportunity has arisen–a day simply with him. That doesn’t happen very often with three kids in the house!

I decided first things first–where would he like to eat? Either Burger King or McDonalds, he said and I sighed inwardly. Fast Food is something of a novelty here, since I just named the two chains that we have in Dresden. Well, I guess three since KFC has recently made it’s arrival. I knew this was a nice treat for him, since they’re downtown and we don’t often go to either one of these “restaurants.”🙂 Since it was his choice I even let him look at the different toys the two places offered before he decided. Am I a good mom or what?

But before we went to lunch we picked out some running shoes in Deutschland colors. Chris is a Deutschland fan, which to him amounts to wearing a combination of black, red and yellow. So black, red and yellow sneakers it was. He demonstrated how fast he could run, by running up and down Prager Strasse at the speed of light.

Then, because he’s outgrown all his baseball caps and the weather now permits said hats, I let him pick out a ball cap. We went to H & M, which is the best place in Dresden for a variety of ball caps that appeal to 6 year olds. I see boys running around Dresden with army green or brown beat-up looking hats. Not for Chris. He went straight to the bright blue one with a red Spider-Man on it. Spider-Man is Chris’s first superhero love. He discovered Spider-Man when he had an potty ‘accident’ when he was 2 1/2 and I ran into a store and bought him the first set of underwear I laid eyes on…Spider-Man underoos. He looked down at the underwear and said “Who’s that?” I said, “That’s Spider-Man.”
And that’s all it took. Though he knows Superman, Batman, The Green Lantern, Aquaman, Wonder Woman, Captain America and Wolverine and on and on….. it’s always been Spider-Man.

We then went on to buy gifts for Alex and Olivia who both have birthdays coming up (perfume and lip gloss for Olivia, a flashlight and mini-transformer for Alex) and then ended up at McDonalds. Randy taught the kids “20 Questions” as a game to keep them occupied when they have to sit somewhere for a while (i.e. car, doctor’s office, restaurant) and Chris loves it. No sooner had we sat down than he said he wanted to play 20 questions. “I’ll think of something….it’s a thing!” And on it went for about 20 rounds. But I didn’t get tired of it. I love watching him use his mind. Sometimes he’d sit for 5 whole minutes chewing his burger to think about a really good question to crack the answer.

My favorite moment was when I said, “Okay, I’m thinking of a person.”
He said, “Do they live on an alien planet?”
🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “A day with a Superhero”

  1. Caryn says :

    What a great day! The poor middle kid rarely gets a moment alone with mom or dad. This I know. I’m glad you guys got to hang out. Fun story.

  2. Pam Davis says :

    Sounds like a really fun time. A great way to get things accomplished (buying shoes) while giving him some one on one with you. I LOVE his question at the end of your story. Cracks me up every time I read it. He is a very cool kid.

  3. Opa says :

    My favorite superhero growing up was Spiderman too, by far. Hulk was second. The drugstore downtown was the only place to buy comic books and whenever I had a quarter I’d walk halfway across town to see if the latest Spiderman was in.

Leave a Reply

